Ladies Who Lunch ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿฝ

Last week I was treated to three outings with Tash and, of course food had to be involved! 

The first trip of the week was shopping and lunch in Bondi Junction. We decided to eat first so we had enough energy to do the exhausting task of browsing through the stores. We went for a lunch deal at Bondi Pizza and I tried something a little different. My pizza contained: salmon, capers, rocket and a homemade caesar dressing (you could taste the anchovies, it was delicious). Here it is:

 

Tash went for a prosciutto and mozzarella pizza, which I couldn’t photograph as she was already eating a slice before I had the chance. I know ae, imagine actually eating your food instead of photographing it first! 

We then did our laps through the two very confusing Westfield Shopping Centres. I managed to find a bargain of three tops for just $25 but Tash left empty handed. 

The second trip was on Saturday night, Tash and I planned a girls trip to the cinema (again) but thought we could save money but cooking dinner at hers. Which meant more money could be spent on prosecco, priorities! Tash needed some inspiration so I suggested a quick and simple frittata.

Here’s the recipe below:

  • 5 eggs
  • 100ml milk (we used soy)
  • Salt & pepper
  • Half a packet of spinach 
  • 100g ham
  • Half a packet of feta 
  • Mozzarella to sprinkle on top

Of course you can put anything inside your frittata!

To make this simple meal, you whisk the eggs and milk together, whilst seasoning to taste. Then you grease a oven safe container. Cover the bottom of the container with spinach, dot around the ham and feta too. Then pour the egg mixture around the fillings. Pop this into the oven at 200 degrees centigrade for 15 minutes, then when it has risen and firmed up – sprinkle the mozzarella on top and let that melt. Once cooked serve in large slices. We added salad and homemade potato wedges (cut into to wedge shapes, oil, season and bake in the oven for 20 minutes) bulk out the meal too. I did not take a picture as I was ravenous and inhaled the meal. Next time though! Tash then served red velvet cupcakes, buttercream and strawberries for dessert:

It was delicious and gluten free too! I’ll definitely need to ask for the recipe. 

After dinner (and half a bottle of passion pop each) Tash and I went off to the Ritz cinema in Randwick. We may have missed the screening for Moonlight again, so I convinced Tash to watch Trainspotting 2 with me. Side note: I’m from Scotland so wanted to basque in my culture for a couple of hours and also my step dad was an extra in the film. 

The film didn’t start for a while so we went for more bevy in the Ritz Bar overlooking Randwick. The alcohol went to my head and I needed something to sober me up before the film, luckily for me a cheeseboard was advertised so I happily ordered one. We chatted, drank and nibbled on cheese. Then it was time for the film, we may have also bought a choc top to enjoy throughout the film as we apparently weren’t full yet! 

The film was awesome, Tash didn’t like it so much but I loved seeing the four characters 20 years on, and how life doesn’t always work out as planned. The updated ‘Choose Life’ speech was very poignant too. Throughout the film I think I pissed off the people next to me as I was constantly getting dirty looks, to be fair every few seconds I would recognise a place and tell Tash that I’d gotten my belly button pierced up that street, or that I had spewed in the toilets of that night club. The cherry on top of the cake though was when I saw my step dad in the film and full on shouted his name in the cinema. I think the alcohol was still pretty pungent in my system…

The next day, our third trip, we decided to head into the city and check out the Kirribilli Markets. Ben had come along too. Unfortunately the bad weather that Sydney has been having, for what seems like forever, caused these to be cancelled. We wouldn’t let that ruin our day so we went for a fancy lunch instead! We went to a little restaurant called By the Bridge and I, of course, had to choose the different option. All I saw were the words ‘chef’s plate’ and I was sold. I wasn’t disappointed, it included: house made chicken liver pรขtรฉ, smoked salmon, kalamata olives, garlic crostini and potato salad:


Tash went for a chicken burger and Ben had fish and chips. This lavish meal obviously didn’t satisfy us, so what else to finish off the day with but ice cream. Luckily for us Gelatissmo was right opposite the road. 


I walked in and was overwhelmed with the flavours, so much so that I tested almost all of them. I decided on coconut ice cream and got a swirl of dark chocolate ice cream with it, which was the perfect combination! 

I’m feeling rather full after this week but I can’t wait to see what other dishes I discover next!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mel & Suan says:

    Awe! Can’t miss out on gelato!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

