How do you like your eggs in the morning?

Over the past few weeks I feel as if I’ve been living as a housewife and my friend Tash is my companion in all this. You see, we’re now working weird hours so they only time for a catch up is lunchtime during the middle of the week. We now rub shoulders with the very affluent, attractive and active wearing housewives of the Eastern Suburbs.  And I feel one right of passage into this lifestyle is brunch! 

My first mid morning meal was handmade by yours truly and I decided to go for the soaring trend over here; smashed avo on toast. 

Here’s my recipe:

  • 2 eggs 
  • 1 tbsp white vinegar
  • Half an avocado 
  • Salt to taste 
  • Diced chilli
  • Lime juice
  • 2 pieces of bread

Pretty simple really; toast the bread, mash up the avocado in a bowl, then add the salt, lime juice and chilli – and mix till all combined. Spread this on the toast and add a poached egg to each slice. 

*Cooking tip: my fool proof way to poach eggs involves cracking them into a mug covered in clingfilm (make sure to make a wee dip in the clingfilm for them) then twist the wrap and pop the eggs into the boiling vinegar water. Once cooked to your liking, put the eggs onto a paper towel, gently unravel them halfway, flip them over onto your food and finish unwrapping.*

I then finished my meal with a kewpie drizzle to add a little flashiness to my meal and here it is:


A few days later Tash and I went to Wylie’s Baths in Coogee in the hopes to go for a swim; in the natural salt water pools. However it was too bloody cold so we had a coffee and enjoyed the view instead:


We got quite hungry so set off to find brunch. We stopped at a lovely little cafe near to the baths called Bazura. Brunch did not disappoint! Tash had avocado, tomato and pancetta on toast. I had potato rosti, bacon, scrambled egg and avocado.


The meal was beautiful apart from when I hit the salt shaker too hard and dumped it all over my lovely rosti! News quickly spread and we became the ‘salt girls’. They offered me a new rosti which was gladly accepted but I didn’t know that I was charged for it, which didn’t add to the experience. 

All in all, I love me some brunch and I think a career being a rich housewife would be great for me…

2 thoughts on “How do you like your eggs in the morning?

Leave a Reply

