The Perks of the Job

Working in a restaurant is a great opportunity to try lots of food and open yourself up to new flavours. As for my place of work, I get to try Hawaiian/Asian/Australian dishes. 

Lunch came around and I decided to create a dish that encompassed everything I have learned so far. Here’s my recipe: 

  • 100g thinly sliced beef
  • 2 garlic cloves 
  • Chilli oil (you decide how spicy you want it)
  • 2 tbsps shoyu dressing
  • 100g black rice 
  • 50g broccoli
  • 50g raw slaw (we combine: carrot, red cabbage, white cabbage and green apple. NB: all julienne)
  • White sesame seeds to garnish 

1. Cook the rice as per the packaging and then place in the base of your bowl. 

2. Place the beef onto the grill. As it starts to brown, add the garlic, shoyu and chilli oil. 

3. Cook the beef to your preference; I personally love when it’s thoroughly cooked and almost crispy.

4. Chop the broccoli into sprigs and blanch in salty water for a few minutes. 

5. Place the broccoli and slaw on top of the rice, in neat sections. 

6. Add the beef to the bowl and sprinkle some sesame seeds on top.

Here’s my finished product:


Another perk is creating poke bowls in my restaurant and I was lucky enough to make a prawn poke bowl again. It was pretty similar to the dish I mentioned in my blog previously but some new ingredients were added;

  • 1kg prawns
  • 8 garlic cloves 
  • 100g wakame salad (seaweed)
  • 4 tbsps kewpie
  • Salt 
  • 1 red onion
  • 200g edamame beans 

1. Cut up the prawns into small bite size pieces.

2. Dice the garlic cloves.

3. Cook the prawns with the garlic until pink and firm.

4. Remove the prawns from the heat and put in the fridge to cool.

5. Blend the wakame and kewpie together, add salt to taste. 

6. Add the mixture to the prawns.

7. Dice the red onion and pop the edamame beans from their shells.

8. Add the veg to the prawns and mix through.

9. Add some veg to garnish and serve.

Here is the best poke bowl I’ve ever tasted:


I’ll definitely be taking these new flavours with me in life! 

Leave a Reply

