A Trip to Tin Can Bay

As I was the first backpacker to arrive, there wasn’t much work for me to do so instead I helped around the house and farm. 

The farmers took me down to their other house in Tin Can Bay one night, where we met their friends and had a curry. It was very different compared to any other curry I had tasted as it was made with mince and cabbage. It was very simplistic but the spices used made it pop. After dinner, we chatted and ended the night with plenty of wine. 

The next day we did some work around the house and I took Salty the dog for a walk along the water front. Tin can bay is a wee fishing town and I could see why. There was a vast amount of water and tons of boats chilling trying to catch something. 

Here’s Salty:


We then had a ‘sausage sizzle’ which is basically a barbecue with just sausages and plenty of wine again! I love the Aussies. 
After lunch we headed back to the farm but made a stop off on the way to a hidden gem of a pub. It was nestled in the trees and when you entered it was a proper old Aussie place. It had wooden furniture/decorations everywhere and the walls were plastered with old beer cans and local event flyers. We had some more wine and, after a fantastic sing song in the car, made it back to the farm. 

I think I’m going to like this place.

Leave a Reply

